Public Holidays

In Canada, there are thirteen public holidays:

  • New Year's Day 
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • Victoria Day
  • Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day (Quebec only)
  • Canada Day
  • Civic Holiday
  • Labour Day
  • National Day for Truth and Reconciliation
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Remembrance Day 
  • Christmas Day 
  • Boxing Day

These are paid days off that you’re entitled to. Depending on your contract, you may have the option to work on the public holiday and receive additional pay or choose to take another day off.